Ohio Robbery Law
Updated: Aug 18, 2022
The following is from https://statelaws.findlaw.com/ohio-law/ohio-robbery-laws.html and shared here in order to get a sense of the injustice that Jason is facing.
Ohio Revised Code Title XXIX. Crimes Procedure Section 2911.01 & Section 2911.02
Aggravated Robbery (Section 2911.01):
It’s a first degree felony to do any of the following while attempting to commit or committing a theft offense, or fleeing immediately after the attempt or offense:
Have a deadly weapon and either show the weapon or use it;
Have a dangerous ordnance; or
Inflict, or attempt to inflict, serious physical harm on another.
Robbery (Section 2911.02):
It’s a second degree felony to have a deadly weapon or inflict, attempt to inflict, or threaten to inflict physical harm on another while committing or attempting to commit a theft offense, or fleeing after the offense.
It’s a third degree felony to use or threaten the immediate use of force against another while committing or attempting to commit a theft offense, or fleeing after the offense.
Conviction under Ohio’s robbery laws can result in imprisonment and fines:
First degree felony: prison term of 3 to 11 years and fines not exceeding $20,000.
Second degree felony: prison term of 2 to 8 years and fines not exceeding $15,000.
Third degree felony: prison term of 9, 12, 18, 24, 30, or 36 months and fines not exceeding $10,000.